User Login


ISTS Kurobane Lecture

In 1998 IIW Sub-commission XV-E initiated a Prize for international achievement and acclaim in the field of Tubular Structures. This award took the form of a Keynote Address to the International Symposium on Tubular Structures (ISTS), to be known as the "Kurobane Lecture".

This was in honour of the prodigious contribution made to tubular structures by the late Professor Yoshiaki Kurobane of Kumamoto University, Japan. He was accordingly invited to give the inaugural presentation at the ISTS8 in Singapore, in 1998. The second Kurobane Lecturer was Professor Jaap Wardenier, of Delft University of Technology in The Netherlands, and his address was given at the ISTS9 in Düsseldorf, Germany in 2001. The third Kurobane Lecturer was Professor Jeffrey Packer, of the University of Toronto in Canada, and his address was given at the ISTS10 in Madrid, Spain in 2003. The fourth Kurobane Lecturer was Professor Peter Marshall, of MHP Systems Engineering in USA, and his address was given at the ISTS11 in Quebec, Canada in 2006. The fifth Kurobane Lecturer was Professor Ram Puthli, of University of Karlsruhe in Germany, and his address was given at the ISTS12 in Shanghai, China in 2008. The sixth Kurobane Lecturer was Dr. Nick Zettlemoyer, of Exxon Mobil Development Company in USA, and his address was given at the ISTS13 in Hong Kong, China in 2010. The seventh Kurobane Lecturer was Professor Xiao-Ling Zhao, of Monash University in Australia, and his address was given at the ISTS14 in London, UK in 2012. The eighth Kurobane Lecturer was Professor Yoo Sang Choo, of National University of Singapore, and his address was given at the ISTS15 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in 2015. The ninth Kurobane Lecturer was Dr. Stefan Herion, of Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in Germany, and his address was given at the ISTS16 in Melbourne, Australia in 2017. The Tenth Kurobane lecturer, at ISTS17, will be Professor. Mick Eekhout of Octatube in the Netherlands.

ISTS Young Researcher Award

The International Programme Committee of the 17th International Symposium on Tubular Structures (ISTS17) has initiated an ISTS Young Researcher Award, to be presented to the individual judged by the ISTS Awards Committee to have written the best paper for the Symposium.

The ISTS Young Researcher Award has been set up to encourage the submission and presentation of high-quality papers in the Symposium by young researchers (up to age of 35). Each of the papers shall be authored by the young researcher only.

The ISTS Awards Committee will evaluate the selected papers for presentation at ISTS17 according to their originality, contributions to the field and quality of presentation. The Award will be presented at the closing ceremony of the ISTS17 in Singapore.